Australian Chamber Orchestra - Intimate Letters

Australian Chamber Orchestra - Intimate Letters

A collaboration between ACO and Bell Shakespeare, led by London Symphony Orchestra concertmaster Gordan Nikolic.

MOZART Divertimento in F, K.138 
String Quartet No.1 “From My Life” (arr. for string orchestra)
JANÁČEK String Quartet No.2 “Intimate Letters” (arr. for string orchestra)

Gordan Nikolic Guest Director & Violin

Peter Evans Co-Artistic Director, Bell Shakespeare

Bell Shakespeare Actors to be announced

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Concept by Timo-Veikko Valve

In a dramatic collaboration with Bell Shakespeare, the Australian Chamber Orchestra performs Janáček’s Intimate Letters and Smetana’s From My Life, sharing the stage with esteemed actors who give life to the stories which inspired the music.

The ACO’s theatrical staging of Janáček’s first quartet, the Kreutzer Sonata, received glowing reviews and it is exciting to give his second quartet Intimate Letters the same treatment, performing an arrangement for string orchestra under the direction of London Symphony Orchestra concertmaster Gordan Nikolic.

Inspired by more than 700 passionate letters written between Janáček and his much younger, married muse, Intimate Letters explores their overwhelming and obsessive love. Smetana’s autobiographical From My Life soars with the joy and hope of childhood which gradually derails and ultimately descends into despair, as the composer faces the inescapable fate of impending deafness.

Updated:  27 February 2015/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications