Australian Chamber Orchestra - Piano Quintets

Australian Chamber Orchestra - Piano Quintets


DVOŘÁPiano Quintet in A, Op.81


Satu Vänskä Violin
Rebecca Chan Violin
Christopher Moore Viola
Timo-Veikko Valve Cello
Paavali Jumppanen Piano

Satu Vänskä performs firecracker showpiece Subito on the ACO’s Stradivarius violin, launching us into a chamber music concert of Slavic melancholy and joy.

Written just prior to the Nazi invasion of the USSR, Shostakovich’s Piano Quintet is a dramatic and harrowing premonition of the coming terror.

Melting away the turbulence of Shostakovich is the bright, melodious joy of Dvořák’s piano quintet, one of the greatest pieces of chamber music in the canon. Internationally regarded for performances of “immense power and an extraordinary range of colours” (New York Times), Finnish pianist Paavali Jumppanen is our perfect partner for these stirring works.


Updated:  27 February 2015/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications