Musica Viva - Borodin Quartet

Musica Viva - Borodin Quartet

Ruben Aharonian – Violin
Sergei Lomovsky – Violin
Igor Naidin – Viola
Vladimir Balshin – Cello

The legendary Borodin String Quartet is living history. The printed music is uses bear the autograph markings of other notable Soviet colleagues such as Dmitry Shostakovich. Just as importantly, the Quartet’s unwritten traditions carries a unique impact that makes every concert glow with the authenticity of experience and knowledge. Membership of the Quartet has changed slowly over the decades, allowing each new player to fully immerse themselves into the mighty ‘Borodin sound’.

Approaching their 70th concert season, the Borodins return to Australia with music of great depth and emotional resonance. Shostakovich, of course: his powerful Quartet no 8 and its dark sister, no 11, sharply contrast with the Classical beauty of cornerstone repertoire from Beethoven. These lend balance to the evocative drama of Schubert’s great ‘Death and the Maiden’, and to the great Russian sensibility that underpins every work by Tchaikovsky.

More info

Repertoire: Beethoven, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky


Updated:  27 February 2015/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications