Dr Natalie Williams

Dr Natalie Williams

School of Music

Room 507, School of Music Building


+61 2 6125 5787

BMusHons (Adelaide), MMus (Melbourne), DMus (Indiana), AMusA

“Williams has a spectacularly evolved gift for tapping into a universally shared pathos that speaks to an audience, even on a single hearing, with profundity and depth.”
Maxim Boon (Limelight Magazine) 14 April 2015

“Williams’ orchestral score [is] … beautifully supple, brooding and majestically soaring..."
Graham Strahle (The Australian) 17 August 2014

Natalie Williams is an Australian-born composer. In 2015 her music will be premiered internationally by ensembles including the Doric String Quartet (UK), the Pavel Haas Quartet (Czech Republic) and the Sydney Conservatorium Wind Symphony. Her works have been commissioned and performed by international ensembles, including the Atlanta Opera, Omaha Symphony, the Berkeley Symphony the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, Musica Viva, the West Australian Symphony Orchestra, Adelaide Baroque, the Sydney Youth Orchestra, the Australian Youth Orchestra, Indiana University Chamber Orchestra, and the Plathner’s Eleven Chamber Ensemble (Germany).

Her music has been championed by performers and toured throughout Europe, Australia and the United States. Composition prizes include; two-time winner of the Atlanta Opera Competition (2013 and 2015), winner of the Iron Composer competition (2010) and joint winner of the inaugural Schueler Awards for a new commission for the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra (2007).  She has received professional development grants from the Australasian Performing Rights Association, and the British Music Society. In 2015 she held an international research scholarship at the University of Sydney. Natalie has taught composition and music theory at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, the Hugh Hodgson School of Music at the University of Georgia, and the Faculty of Music at the Melbourne Conservatorium. She serves on the boards of the Society of Composers, Inc. and the International Alliance of Women in Music.

Scores and recordings of Natalie Williams’ music are available from the Australian Music Centre
Postal address: PO Box N690 Grosvenor Place NSW 1220
Phone: +612-9247-4677, Fax +612-9241-2873 or email info@australianmusiccentre.com.au

Updated:  5 April 2018/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications