Ensemble Offspring

Ensemble Offspring

Ensemble Offspring is a Sydney-based New Music Ensemble performing new and innovating compositions. The core ensemble comprises Lamorna Nightingale (flute), Jason Noble (clarinet), Veronique Serret (violin), James Cuddeford (violin), Claire Edwardes (percussion), Bree van Reyk (percussion and drums), and Zubin Kanga (piano). However, they frequently engage visiting artists to suit their repertoire needs. They have had multiple collabarations with theatre, popular music, dance, and instrument building. Ensemble Offspring have many highlights in their twenty-one year career, including premieres of new compositions, performances internationally in Europe, and performing regularly in the Sydney Opera House. 

The Ensemble will first be visiting ANU on Thursday 28th April for a two-day intensive session with students. This visit will feature Lamorna Nightingale, Jason Nobel, Zubin Kanga, Claire Edwardes, and two guests of the ensemble – Blair Harris and Lachlan O’Donnell. They will be working intensively with student composers in reading sessions of new compositions and works-in-progress, as well as collaborating with the ANU New Music Ensemble (led by PhD student and composer Chlöe Hobbs). They will also be discussing instrumentation and composition with students working with, and writing for, ensembles.

The ANU School of Music is extremely excited to have Ensemble Offspring as Ensemble in Residence in 2016, and look forward to a wonderful series of workshops, masterclasses, and new compositions emerging from the ANU.

Look out for future visits by the Ensemble in May, and throughout the year.

Updated:  19 January 2018/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications