The ANU School of Music has long been one of Australia's most well-respected centres for jazz education. Our students study improvisation, arranging, composition, jazz theory and aural skills, and have access to exciting workshops year-round. Jazz students have the opportunity to perform in both large and small ensembles, including the Jazz Collective (a reading/recording ensemble for composers). Student ensembles are directed by some of Australia’s most outstanding jazz musicians.
Mr Greg Stott is an Australian guitarist and teacher. He teaches jazz and contemporary guitar at the Australian National University and has been a featured performer at numerous events including the New Zealand International Jazz & Blues Festival, the Sydney Olympics Festival, the Adelaide Cabaret Festival, the National Folk festival and a number of international sporting events. He has also played for Australian Prime Ministers and foreign dignitaries and performed original compositions for national broadcast on ABC FM. Greg is a PhD candidate at the Australian National University and maintains a busy performing and recording schedule.

Mr Brendan Clarke has recently returned to Canberra after 18 years living in Sydney where he accumulated a wealth of experience becoming one of Australia’s premier jazz double bassists. He has a built a reputation for his sense of swing, commanding sound, groove and musicality on the bass. In 2001 Brendan was the first bassist ever to win the prestigious National Jazz Award at the Wangaratta Jazz Festival. Since then Brendan has played bass on over 50 albums and has appeared at all the major Australian jazz festivals including the Manly Jazz Festival, Thredbo Jazz Festival, Wangaratta festival of Jazz and Blues, Bellingen Jazz Festival, Dubbo Jazz Festival, Freemantle Jazz festival, Glenelg Jazz Festival and the Melbourne International Jazz Festival. He has toured Europe several times including performances at the Berlin jazz festival with the Sandy Evans Trio, Locarno film festival with David Blenkhorn and a tour of Italy and performance at the Sidmouth Folk Festival in 2016 with world music ensemble Mara. In 2004 he recorded at the famous Rainbow Studios in Oslo, Norway  as part of a European tour with the Sydney band “Theaktet” led by saxophonist David Theak. Brendan has also represented Australia and performed in the Australian pavilion at World Expo in Japan in 2005 and again in Shanghai, China in 2010 with the George Washingmachine Trio.

Mr Hugh Barrett studied jazz piano at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music with Paul McNamara, Judy Bailey, and Mike Nock, graduating in 2006 with a Bachelor of Music with first class honours. He was a James Morrison Jazz Scholarship finalist in 2003 and 2004 and an Australian National Jazz Awards semi-finalist in 2006 and 2013. Hugh has been a member of the Jazzgroove Mothership Orchestra since 2006, providing him with opportunities to perform with acclaimed international artists such as Chris Potter, Maria Schneider, Bob Shepherd, Alex Sipiagin, Florian Ross, Charles Tolliver, and Bert Joris. Hugh has also performed in smaller ensembles with American drummer John Riley and Australian jazz icons such as Dale Barlow, Bernie McGann, and Dave Panichi, and at many of Australia’s best jazz festivals, including the Wangaratta Festival of Jazz and the Melbourne International Jazz Festival. A versatile musician, Hugh also recorded and toured nationally and internationally as part of popular group The Beautiful Girls from 2009 to 2012. Hugh is also in the final stages of completing a doctorate in philosophy at the ANU.
Mr John Mackey is an established and well-respected saxophonist and educator who initially trained in Perth and has performed with BB King, Ray Charles, Johnny Griffin, Lee Konitz, Jim McNeely, Kenny Werner, Al Cohn, Mike Nock, Nat Adderley, Roy Hargrove, George Shearing and many more.
Mr Mark Sutton is a drummer and producer based in Canberra. A graduate of the school, Sutton has performed with Mike Nock, Bernie McGann, Dale Barlow, Sean Wayland, James Muller, Matt MacMahon, Idea of North, Brendan Clarke, Alana Stone, Eamon McNelis, Andrew Robson, Ben Hauptmann, Julian Lee, George Golla, Craig Scott, Jan Rutherford and Jackie Orzasky, Fiona Burnett, Jonathan Schwartz, Vince Jones, Grace Knight and Adrian Cunningham.
Mr Miroslav Bukovsky is a composer and trumpet player who has been setting trends in Australian jazz since the 1970s. Miroslav was instrumental in forming Ten Part Invention with John Pochee and Roger Frampton in 1986 and is still active as a composer and a player in this band. He formed Wanderlust in 1991. In 1999 he joined the Jazz faculty at ANU School of Music where he has taught trumpet, composition, arranging, and improvisation.




Updated:  25 July 2018/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications