About the Open School

About the Open School of Music

 

The Open School of Music is funded by a Community Outreach grant from artsACT, and provides developing musicians with a supportive and nurturing social environment in which they can improve their technical and theoretical knowledge of music, interact and share their love of music with their peers, and rub shoulders with the world of professional music-making. 

The Open School of Music aims to ensure that high-quality music education is accessible to all residents of the ACT who have the interest and aptitude.

In 2022 we will offer a number of programs, including:

The School of Music has a strong and enduring commitment to outreach into the wider community. The School of Music works closely with its principal funding supporter, artsACT, collaborates with many of the major cultural institutions resident in the ACT, and also partners with local festivals, community music making organisations, and teachers and schools through the Education and Training Directorate

 

2022 Term Dates

Term 1: Monday 14 February - Friday 1 April (7 weeks)

Term 2: Monday 2 May - Friday 17 June (7 weeks)

Recital Week

Chamber Concerts:  Friday 17 June and Saturday 18 June 

Jazz Concert:  Tuesday 21 June

 

Term 3: Monday 18 July  - Friday 16 September (9 weeks)

Term 4:  Monday 10 October - Friday 11 November (5 weeks)

Recital Week

Chamber Concerts:  Friday 11 November and Saturday 12 November

Jazz Concert: Tuesday 15 November

 

 

ACT Government logo

The Open School of Music thanks it's principal funding partner artsACT.

Updated:  24 November 2021/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications